Rosemary and sea salt polenta chips

I’ve had a bag of polenta in my cupboard ever since I made a cake with it more than six months ago! I see it everyday sitting in my cupboard and I’ve been wanting to use it up to make room so abracadabra the polenta chips were on my weekly baking list.

I also looked through my last few blogs and I haven’t put up a savoury recipe since well before Christmas so here it is! I took a peek at many many recipes before putting together this one. I read Maggie Beer’s, Donna Hay’s and Jamie Oliver’s before putting my own version together. 

These chips are great if you love chips but are trying to avoid the potato. I’ve added butter and parmesan to my polenta but if you’re trying to keep it extra healthy reduce the amount or skip the butter altogether.

What is also fantastic about these chips is that you can cut them thicker to use them as a major part to a dish or keep them regular size to have as tapas or as a side.

It’s amazing what a bag of polenta can become.

Rosemary and sea salt polenta chips

2 cups vegetable stock

1 ½ tbsp rosemary leaves (chopped)

½ cup polenta

¼ cup parmesan

1 tspn butter

sea salt

extra salt and pepper

  1. Prepare a square cake tin with baking paper (19cm base) and put to the side
  2. In a saucepan bring vegetable stock to the boil. Pre-heat oven to 220 (convection) 200 fan forced
  3. Add polenta and stir until thick (check cooking time on packaging – you may have instant or regular polenta cooking times will differ – I cooked mine for 15 minutes) constantly stirring
  4. Add butter, rosemary and parmesan and salt and pepper and stir
  5. Pour into a tin and smooth over and cover. Place in the fridge for a minimum of 3 hours
  6. Take polenta from the fridge and tip out onto a cutting board. Cut polenta into chips
  7. Place chips onto a baking tray covered in baking paper and spray with olive oil
  8. Bake for 20 minutes until the chips are crispy on the ends and golden
  9. Serve sprinkled with sea salt

NB. If you like your chips extra crispy shallow fry in a pan for a few minutes before baking to give a crispy finish. I prefer mine baked!

Newbie song suggestion: Diane Young – Vampire Weekend. If you didn’t buy this album in 2013 you SHOULD get it now. A fantastic album from start to finish with great lyrics and pop hooks. Treat yo’ self!

Oldie song suggestion: Right here right now – Fat Boy Slim. I didn’t realise this song was more than 15-years-old it makes me feel old! I remember dancing to this CD in high school. I heard it on a TV ad the other day and tracked down my old CD to listen to it again. Great to dance in the kitchen to!

2 responses to “Rosemary and sea salt polenta chips

Leave a comment